Alumni Awards

Each year, the College of Family and Consumer Sciences presents several awards to outstanding alumni, faculty, and friends. The various awards recognize the many contributions made to the college, the profession, and society.

Submit a Nomination  Meet Previous Recipients

Award recipients are recognized each spring during the Annual Alumni Awards Luncheon.

2024 Alumni Awards Recipients

  • Distinguished Alumni Award

    Since 1980, the Distinguished Alumni Award has recognized a graduate of Family and Consumer Sciences who has made lifelong contributions that reflect the beliefs and values of the College.

    Mary Jo Beverly (BHSE 1970)

    Georgia 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees member and former Georgia 4-H President

    • Thomasville-Thomas County Woman of the Year, 1999
    • Helped found the Thomas County Food Bank and Outreach Center
    • Lifetime Member, Million Dollar Club, Thomasville Area Board of Realtors
    • Farm owner, manager (with husband), and bookkeeper, Crooked Water Farm in Ochlocknee, Ga., since 1973
    • Vice-President, assistant to manager, bookkeeper on her family-owned farm, Franklin I. Smith Farm, Inc. in Coolidge, Ga.
    • Served four terms on Thomas County Board of Commissioners
  • Emily Quinn Pou Professional Achievement Award

    Established in 1999 in honor of the fourth dean of the College, this award is presented to graduates who have attained substantial achievements and are at the midpoint of their careers.

    Caree Cotwright (M.S. 2004, Foods and Nutrition; Ph.D. 2008, Foods and Nutrition)

    Director of Nutrition Security and Health Equity for the USDA and Associate Professor of Nutritional Sciences at the College of Family and Consumer Sciences and

    • Secured over $1,172,000 in extramural and intramural grant funding
    • Team member, researcher and trainer on Michelle Obama’s “Let’s Move” campaign
    • Has published over 18 peer-reviewed articles and high high-impact government articles for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the USDA
    • Chris Todd Outstanding Outreach Award, FACS, 2018
    • FACS 100 Centennial Honoree, 2018
    • Georgia Trend Magazine 40 Under 40 honoree, 2016
  • Outstanding Service Award

    Established in 1999, this award is presented to graduates for continued involvement in their community, faith community, helping organization, the College or the Alumni Association.

    Marty Kemp (BSHE 1990, Consumer Economics and Home Management)

    First Lady of Georgia

    • Helped form the Georgians for Refuge, Action, Compassion and Education (GRACE) Commission created to end human trafficking
    • Recipient of James A. “Bud” Cody Community Impact Award from Marchman Consulting, given to those who have impacted communities via motivation, determination and innovation
    • Recipient of the Georgia 4-H Green Jacket Award for outstanding, ongoing support across the state
    • As First Lady, she has prioritized promoting pet adoption, mental health and foster care and adoption reform initiatives
  • Pacesetter Award

    This award goes to an individual who has graduated from the college within the last 10 years and who actively promotes the beliefs and values of Family and Consumer Sciences.

    Kristian Hogans (Ph.D. 2023, International Merchandising)

    Assistant Professor, Apparel, Merchandising, and Design, Alabama A&M University

    • Mary Cochran Fellowship Recipient, AAFCS, 2021
    • Member of the Pop Culture Association
    • Member of the International Textile and Apparel Association
    • During her time at FACS, she co-facilitated a book club with an emphasis on inclusion
  • Creswell Award

    Named for the first dean of our college, this award recognizes a current or retired faculty or staff member who has provided leadership in motivating and guiding students.

    Sherle Brown (M.A., Organizational Management)

    • Part-time instructor, Department of Financial Planning, Housing and Consumer Economics
    • Institute of Real Estate Management Georgia Academic Member of the Year, 2021, 2022, and 2023
    • FACS Super-Includer Award, 2022
    • Georgia Apartment Association Foundation Board of Directors, 2023 - Present
    • Real Estate Career Academy Board of Directors, 2018 - Present
    • Georgia Real Estate Commission Special Task Force, 2023 - Present
    • Advanced Instructor/Facilitator for the National Apartment Association, 2007 - Present
    • Founder and President of SHB Consulting Services, 2005-Present
  • FACS Appreciation Award

    Given to an individual or organization that has contributed significantly to the support of the College of Family and Consumer Sciences either financially, programatically or legislatively.

    Houston Gaines

    Georgia State Representative and advocate for the college's Destination Dawgs inclusive postsecondary education program

    • As a state representative, he sponsored a bill that provides needed financial support for Georgia’s Inclusive Postsecondary Education (IPSE) programs such as Destination Dawgs
    • Elected by his House peers as vice chairman of the majority caucus
    • Member of Northeast Georgia Boy Scouts Council Executive Board
    • Graduate of the Zell Miller Foundation Leadership Institute
    • Served as president of UGA Student Government Association
    • Named to the UGA 40 Under 40 class of 2020
Jump to top